

TRINITY LAFCO www.trinitylafco.org 670 9<sup>th</sup> Street, Suite 202 Arcata, California 95521

## AGENDA ITEM 6.B.

**MEETING:** June 18, 2024

**TO:** Trinity LAFCo Commissioners

FROM: Colette Santsche, Executive Officer

**SUBJECT:** Expiring Commissioner Terms Update

## BACKGROUND

The Commission consists of seven regular and three alternate members. The term of office for each member pursuant to CKH Act §56334 is four years and until the appointment and qualification of a successor. There are no term limits.

- County Three regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors;
- Special Districts Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Independent Special Districts; and
- Public Members Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Commission.

## **DISCUSSION**

County Members were appointed at the January 3, 2024 Board of Supervisors meeting and the Alternate Public Member was recently appointed on April 30, 2024.

Staff began the special district election process in January with a call for nominations. No nominations were received by the April 1<sup>st</sup> deadline so the nomination period was extended to June 3, 2024. Two nominations were received by the extended deadline. Since only one nomination was received for each of the open seats (one enterprise and one non-enterprise), no election will be necessary in accordance with Government Code 56332(f)(2).

Since Commissioner Corbett is now serving as a regular special district member, the alternate special district member seat is now vacant. As such, a new election process will need to occur. Staff will begin the process by sending out a call for nominations by the end of June.

Listed below are current Commission members with their Term of Office:

Designation	Current Member	Term of Office
County – Regular Member	Heidi Carpenter-Harris	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Dan Frasier	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Liam Gogan	Annual Appointment
County – Alternate Member	Ric Leutwyler	Annual Appointment
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 1)	Andrew Johnson	4/30/2028
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 2)	Todd Corbett	4/30/2026
Special District – Alternate	Vacant	4/30/2026
Public Member	Anna C. Burke	4/30/2025
Public Member	Jake Grossman-Crist	4/30/2027
Public Member – Alternate	Joseph Kasper	4/30/2027

## RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Commission receive this report and provide direction to staff as needed.