

TRINITY LAFCO

www.trinitylafco.org 670 9th Street, Suite 202 Arcata, California 95521

AGENDA ITEM 6.B.

MEETING: October 15, 2024

TO: Trinity LAFCo Commissioners

FROM: Colette Santsche, Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Expiring Commissioner Terms Update

BACKGROUND

The Commission consists of seven regular and three alternate members. The term of office for each member pursuant to CKH Act §56334 is four years and until the appointment and qualification of a successor. There are no term limits.

- County Three regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors;
- Special Districts Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Independent Special Districts; and
- Public Members Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Commission.

DISCUSSION

Currently, the alternate special district member seat is vacant. Staff sent out a call for nominations on July 25, 2024 and followed up with reminder emails to special district representatives. The deadline for submitting nominations was September 30, 2024. To date, no nominations have been received. As such, the nomination period was extended to November 29, 2024.

Listed below are current Commission members with their Term of Office:

Designation	Current Member	Term of Office
County – Regular Member	Heidi Carpenter-Harris	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Dan Frasier	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Liam Gogan	Annual Appointment
County – Alternate Member	Jill Cox	Annual Appointment
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 1)	Andrew Johnson	4/30/2028
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 2)	Todd Corbett	4/30/2026
Special District – Alternate	Vacant	4/30/2026
Public Member	Anna C. Burke	4/30/2025
Public Member	Jake Grossman-Crist	4/30/2027
Public Member – Alternate	Joseph Kasper	4/30/2027

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Commission receive this report and provide direction to staff as needed.